Latest News

Monday, July 14, 2014

Germany is World Cup champion 2014

Germany claimed their fourth World Cup win defeating Argentina 1-0 in the 2014 final at the Maracana in Brazil on Sunday.

Argentina defied the Germans for 90 minutes regulation time and into the second half of extra time.
But with seven minutes left before penalty kicks Mario Goetze slipped behind the Argentina defence to smash into the far corner.

Centuries ago Spain and Portugal conquered South America leaving their language behind. Now it’s the turn of the Germans and they are leaving with the World Cup.

The Germans demolished the hosts Brazil 7-1 in the semi final before returning to take a hard fought final.
Germany enjoyed the majority of possession in the first half and came close to scoring in the dying moments but the score ended 0—0 as the teams battled for supremacy.

In an evenly contested affair both teams had their moments. In the fourth minute Argentina’s Gonzalo Higuain sent a chance wide to the relief of the Germans. 

The Argentines also hit the back of the net midway the half but the celebrations were cut short by the assistant referee’s offside flag.

The ding-dong battle continued in the second half with neither team able to take control of the game and break the stalemate.

In the opening minutes of extra time goalkeeper Sergio Romero saved Argentina, blocking a powerhouse from inside the area before the ball was scrambled to safety.

After Germany's goal Argentina threw everything into attack but it was not to be for Lionel Messi and his team.


No comments:

Post a Comment